大創意

大創意

佛吉尼亞州的三個俱樂部聯合起來,在兒童圖書館空間中創造了魔力。

裘莉·薩特(Julie Saetre)的故事•凱薩琳·斯帕克斯(Katherine Sparks)的照片

2017年,弗吉尼亞州威廉斯堡的詹姆斯市縣圖書館的工作人員為兒童啟動了每月一次的大規模 STEAM(科學、技術、工程、藝術和數學)計劃,反應立即熱烈。

這並沒有讓時任圖書館青年服務主任的桑迪·塔爾斯(Sandy Towers)感到驚訝。 

“沒有免費的地方可以讓孩子和他們的家人去體驗這類學習活動,”現任圖書館助理館長的塔爾斯說。“我們意識到,我們的社區中沒有任何東西可以滿足這一需求。”

該圖書館位於城市人口較少的地區,儘管其明亮寬敞的7,500平方英尺的兒童區卻未得到充分利用。因此,當 STEAM 星期六一炮而紅時,員工們看到了機會。

 

 

“那時我們想,'也許我們可以每週七天,每天創造這種學習,'”塔爾斯說。 

詹姆斯城縣擁有圖書館,並同意資助改造兒童空間所需的基本設施:燈光、地毯等。但圖書館館長貝茜·福勒(Betsy Fowler)設想並設計了一個空間,裡面充滿了互動式STEAM展品,以及相應的藏書。還有誰比基瓦尼亞人更能接聽號召呢?

“基瓦尼斯的團體和朋友們做了我們所說的魔術,”塔爾斯說,“這是孩子們喜歡的所有令人興奮的展品。

圖書館基金會的主要捐贈主席也是威廉斯堡基瓦尼斯俱樂部的成員。他與俱樂部分享了有關該專案的信息,成員羅爾夫·克萊默(Rolf Kramer)立即自願主持一個籌集資金的委員會。他聯繫了Toano和Colonial Capital Kiwanis俱樂部,這三人第一次在一個專案上進行了合作。

每個分會根據其規模設定籌款目標;他們一起籌集了 112,000 美元,用於後來的 Kiwanis Kids Idea Studio。它於 2021 年 6 月慶祝盛大開幕——僅第一天就參觀了 2,000 名兒童,這讓他們非常高興。

 

 

改造后的空間現在設有將學習與樂趣相結合的動手展品,這些展品是在 Towers 和 Fowler 參觀了多個兒童博物館以收集想法後專門為圖書館創建的。12 英尺高的 Awesome Air Tubes 使用空氣推進式圍巾來説明孩子們瞭解因果關係。一個巨大的 Lite-Brite 型顯示幕讓年輕參觀者可以用彩色背光的有機玻璃釘子進行設計。

其他展品包括一個大型垂直樂高®積木板、一個磁性齒輪牆和一個兒童大小的廚房、儲備充足的市場和一個配有真實動物 X 光片的獸醫辦公室。 

“我們希望創造一個空間,讓孩子們想一次又一次地回來,”塔爾斯說。 

無論如何,他們都成功了。在今年6月、7月和8月的繁忙月份,Kiwanis Kids Idea Studio每周有4000名兒童參觀。兒童材料的流通量增加了31%。

“讓我告訴你,”塔爾斯說,“這是一個快樂的地方。


本文最初刊登在2022年10月的《Kiwanis magaine》雜誌上。

小額贈款為床、書籤和鮮花提供資金

小額贈款為床、書籤和鮮花提供資金

從1月到3月,基瓦尼斯兒童基金會(Kiwanis Children's Fund)説明小型俱樂部資助大創意。

愛琳·錢德勒(Erin Chandler)

在2024年前三個月,基瓦尼斯兒童基金會再次向會員人數減少的俱樂部發放小額贈款——贈送書籍、為寄養兒童收集用品、促進包容性戶外遊戲等等。下面,您可以閱讀三個專案,這些專案在基瓦尼斯的每個事業領域都採取了創新的服務方法:健康和營養、教育和掃盲以及青年領導力發展。 

健康與營養 

在天堂的平安中入睡
美國密蘇里州溫茨維爾新成立的基瓦尼斯俱樂部的成員知道,良好的睡眠對於成長中的孩子的健康和發育至關重要。這就是為什麼這個俱樂部以及聖路易斯湖和特洛伊的基瓦尼斯俱樂部與 Sleep in Heavenly Peace 合作,後者為沒有床可睡的兒童建造單人雙層床。該俱樂部已經參加了志願者活動,以説明建造床位。兒童基金會的小額贈款將幫助會員購買床墊和床上用品,為10名當地兒童新建床鋪。

教育和掃盲 

基瓦尼斯兒童節
2023年,為慶祝美國明尼蘇達州俱樂部成立 100 周年而舉行的首屆 Kiwanis 兒童日吸引了 800 多名出席者,併產生了五名新的活躍成員,因此該俱樂部決定將其作為年度活動。除了美食、娛樂和手工藝品外,今年的基瓦尼斯兒童日還將與 明尼蘇達州中西部聯合勸募會合作開展一個服務專案。兒童基金會的贈款將支付孩子們使用壓制的干花製作書籤所需的用品。這些書籤將放入數百袋「工具」中,這些「工具」是聯合勸募會在學前兒童早期篩查中分發的,目的是吸引年輕學習者。每個製作書籤的孩子都會收到一本免費的書帶回家——因此,該項目促進了收到書籤的兒童和製作書籤的孩子的識字能力。

青年領導力發展 

P.E.A.C.E.(允許變革和參與的積極環境)花園
牙買加克拉倫登的基瓦尼斯俱樂部將利用基瓦尼斯兒童基金的小額贈款,幫助在當地小學建立第一個“P.E.A.C.E.花園”。該專案旨在通過創造一個封閉的花園空間來解決校園暴力事件的增加——配有座椅、植物和鮮花——這將成為一個寧靜的娛樂和反思環境。P.E.A.C.E. 花園專為調解、同伴諮詢、指導和促進積極價值觀的計劃而設計。收費站小學和嬰兒學校的第一個花園將由俱樂部和學校的 K-Kids and Builders Club 建造和維護。May Pen Kiwanians 希望學生能夠將花園中關於管理情緒和解決衝突的課程內化。

您能提供什麼説明 

要了解有關基瓦尼斯兒童基金小額贈款的更多資訊,請訪問 kiwanis.org/microgrant-program。 

如果您想通過基瓦尼斯的健康和營養、教育和掃盲以及青年領導力發展事業擴大您的影響力,惠及世界各地的兒童,您可以向兒童基金會捐款或瞭解您的俱樂部如何申請贈款來説明您所在社區的孩子們。 

説明孩子學習STEM技能

説明孩子學習STEM技能

從科學博覽會到大學合作,Kiwanis家族促進了STEM教育和職業發展。 

作者:Julie Saetre

STEM專案對基瓦尼斯的教育和掃盲事業至關重要。這是因為科學、技術、工程和數學(STEM)在社會中越來越重要。根據美國勞工統計局 2023 年的一份報告,僅在美國,STEM 工作崗位預計從 2022 年到 2032 年將增長 10.8%。在同一時期,非STEM就業增長預計僅為2.3%。  

世界各地的基瓦尼斯和主要俱樂部正在回應這一號召。當您與其他俱樂部成員集思廣益,在社區中補充 STEM 工作和包含藝術的 STEAM 工作時,請使用這些專案來獲得靈感。(需要資金方面的説明? 基瓦尼斯兒童基金 提供俱樂部贈款和小額贈款。 

美國加利福尼亞州的STEAM展會
2023 年 9 月,美國加利福尼亞州 Kiwanis Club of Diamond Bar Young Professionals 與 Diamond Bar High School 的 Team Sprocket 機器人團隊合作舉辦了首 屆 STEAM 博覽會 。他們的目標是:鼓勵中小學生對STEAM學習充滿熱情,並在STEAM領域追求未來的職業。

基瓦尼亞人在學校圓形劇場里擺放了與STEAM相關的活動,包括贈書、書籤工藝品、面部彩繪和ZTAG遊戲,ZTAG使用可穿戴電子設備來促進以運動和交流為中心的身體和心理鍛煉。Sprocket 團隊展示了其屢獲殊榮的專案,高中的 Printed Works 學生經營的企業展示了機器人、無人機、3D 列印、鐳射切割和 T 恤列印。 

該活動還包括STEAM職業和大學演講者,他們提供了有關STEAM領域的見解,並申請了高中后的STEAM專業。

ElevateEd:尼泊爾的STEM
通過一系列代碼訓練營和機器人研討會,尼泊爾加德滿都的Key Club正在將 STEM教育 的實用方法帶入尼泊爾的中學。在Key Club成員和具有STEM領域專業知識的志願者的帶領下,研討會幫助各種背景的學生將課堂概念應用於實踐專案。除了發展科學領域的重要技能外,參與者還學習團隊合作以及如何在展覽中展示他們的專案。

美國愛達荷州的 STEM 支援
2024 年 1 月,美國愛達荷州波卡特洛的基瓦尼斯俱樂部增加了對愛達荷州立大學 STEM 教育工作的持續支援。向該大學物理系 捐贈的 3,000 美元 用於資助從幼稚園到高中的學生的科學演講和活動。

每年,該部門在愛達荷州圖書館、學校、博物館和其他地區贊助 100 多場科學教育活動。參與者將學習編碼、建模、建造彈射器和水火箭等。波卡特洛俱樂部成員自願提供數百小時的服務,以幫助這些活動取得成功。 

俱樂部成員兼前任主席唐·威科夫(Don Wyckoff)個人捐贈了1,100美元,為10月份由物理系和基瓦尼斯俱樂部贊助的鬧鬼科學實驗室活動購買材料。該實驗室包括 Van DeGraaf 靜電發生器、雷射器和互動科學活動。 

美國弗吉尼亞州的工程合作夥伴關係
位於美國弗吉尼亞州里士滿的John B. Cary 小學為該州教育表現最差的學區之一的兒童提供服務。多達 90% 的學生有資格獲得免費或減價午餐,學校一度未經認證。因此,里士滿的基瓦尼斯俱樂部決定與他們合作。通過這種持續多年的努力,Cary 獲得了認證,現在被公認為學校系統中表現最好的學校之一。

在Kiwanis俱樂部實施的眾多專案中,有一項是與弗吉尼亞聯邦大學 工程系的合作 ,以強調STEM/STEAM教育的重要性。2019年,基瓦尼斯俱樂部的 10,000 美元贈款資助了基瓦尼斯遠端學習實驗室,該實驗室配備了計算機和音訊/視頻設備,以促進 Cary 學生與 VCU 工程教授、學生和教職員工之間的 Zoom 會議。  

作為遠端學習實驗室啟動的一部分,VCU 和 Kiwanis 俱樂部實施了視覺工程計劃,該計劃將大學教授和工作人員帶到卡里與學生一起開展 STEM 活動。視覺工程平均每學期有 40 名學生,每學年大約有 16 節課。  

VCU工程團隊的成員每年還參加Cary的各種活動,參加Kiwanis活動,如一年一度的STEM之夜和職業日。許多家長報名參加VCU工程學院,他們的一些孩子在小學畢業后很長一段時間內都與VCU保持著關係。VCU還鼓勵學校班級來到僅三英里外的VCU校園參觀工程學院,讓學生接觸最先進的工程創新。

Big ideas

Big ideas

Three Virginia clubs combine to create magic in a children’s library space.

Story By Julie Saetre • Photos by Katherine Sparks

In 2017, when staff at the James City County Library in Williamsburg, Virginia, launched a monthly large-scale STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts and math) program for children, the response was immediate and enthusiastic.

That didn’t surprise Sandy Towers, then the library’s youth services director. 

“There were no free places where kids and their families could go and experience these kinds of learning activities,” Towers, now the library’s assistant director, says. “We realized that there was nothing in our community that was addressing that need.”

The library, located in a less-populated area of the city, was underused, despite its bright, spacious 7,500-square-foot children’s area. So when STEAM Saturdays became an instant hit, staff saw an opportunity.

 

 

“That’s when we thought, ‘Maybe we can create this kind of learning every day, seven days a week,’” Towers says. 

James City County owns the library and agreed to fund the basics needed for a remodel of the children’s space: lights, carpeting, etc. But Betsy Fowler, the library’s director, envisioned and designed a space filled with a blend of interactive STEAM exhibits integrated alongside corresponding book collections. Who better to answer the call than Kiwanians?

“The Kiwanis groups and friends did what we call the magic,” Towers says, “which is all of the exciting exhibits that the kids enjoy.”

The library foundation’s major-gifts chairperson is also a member of the Williamsburg Kiwanis Club. He shared information about the project with the club, and fellow member Rolf Kramer immediately volunteered to chair a committee to raise funds. He reached out to the Toano and Colonial Capital Kiwanis clubs, and for the first time, the three collaborated on a project.

Each club set a fundraising goal in accordance with its size; together, they raised US$112,000 for what would become the Kiwanis Kids Idea Studio. It celebrated its grand opening in June 2021 — much to the delight of the 2,000 children who visited that first day alone.

 

 

The transformed space now features hands-on exhibits that combine learning with fun, created specifically for the library after Towers and Fowler toured multiple children’s museums to glean ideas. The 12-foot-tall Awesome Air Tubes use air-propelled scarves to help kids understand cause and effect. A giant Lite-Brite-type display allows young visitors to create designs out of colorful backlit Lucite pegs.

Other exhibits include a large vertical LEGO® board, a magnetic gear wall and a kid-size kitchen, fully stocked market and a veterinary office complete with X-rays of real animals. 

“We were hoping to create a space where the kids would want to come back again and again and again,” Towers says. 

By any measure, they succeeded. The Kiwanis Kids Idea Studio saw 4,000 children visit weekly during the busy months of June, July and August this year. And circulation of children’s materials has increased 31%.

“Let me tell you,” says Towers, “it’s a happy place.”


This story originally appeared in the October 2022 issue of Kiwanis magaine.

Microgrants fund beds, bookmarks and blooms

Microgrants fund beds, bookmarks and blooms

From January through March, the Kiwanis Children’s Fund helped smaller clubs fund big ideas.

By Erin Chandler

In the first three months of 2024, the Kiwanis Children’s Fund again awarded microgrants to clubs making a big difference with fewer members — giving away books, collecting supplies for kids in foster care, promoting inclusive outdoor play and more. Below, you can read about three projects that take an innovative approach to service in each of the Kiwanis cause areas: health and nutrition, education and literacy, and youth leadership development. 

Health and nutrition 

Sleep in Heavenly Peace
Members of the new Kiwanis Club of Wentzville, Missouri, U.S., know that a good night of sleep is essential for the health and development of a growing child. That’s why this club and the Kiwanis clubs of Lake St. Louis and Troy are partnering with Sleep in Heavenly Peace, which builds single bunk beds for children who don’t have beds to sleep in. The club has already participated in volunteer events to help construct beds. A Children’s Fund microgrant will help members purchase mattresses and bedding sets to accompany the newly built beds for 10 local children. 

Education and literacy 

Kiwanis Kids Day
When the Kiwanis Club of Willmar’s first Kiwanis Kids Day — held in celebration of the Minnesota, U.S., club’s 100th anniversary in 2023 — drew over 800 attendees and resulted in five new active members, the club decided to make it an annual event. In addition to food, entertainment and crafts, this year’s Kiwanis Kids Day will feature a service project in conjunction with United Way of West Central Minnesota. A Children’s Fund grant will pay for supplies kids need to make bookmarks using pressed, dried flowers. These bookmarks will go into hundreds of bags of “tools” that United Way gives out at preschool Early Childhood Screenings with the goal of engaging young learners. Each child who makes a bookmark will receive a free book to take home — so the project promotes literacy both for the children who receive the bookmarks and the children who make them. 

Youth leadership development 

P.E.A.C.E. (Positive Environment for Allowing Change and Engagement) Garden
The Kiwanis Club of May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica, will use funds from a Kiwanis Children’s Fund microgrant to help establish the first of what members hope will be a number of “P.E.A.C.E. Gardens” at local primary schools. The project aims to address the increased violence in schools by creating an enclosed garden space — complete with seating, plants and flowers — that will serve as a tranquil setting for fun and reflection. P.E.A.C.E. Gardens are designed for mediation, peer counseling, mentorship and programs that promote positive values. The first garden at Toll Gate Primary and Infant School will be built and maintained by the club and the school’s K-Kids and Builders Club. May Pen Kiwanians hope students will internalize the garden’s lessons about managing their emotions and resolving conflicts.   

How you can help 

To learn more about Kiwanis Children’s Fund microgrants, visit kiwanis.org/microgrant-program

If you want to amplify your impact to reach children around the world through the Kiwanis causes of health and nutrition, education and literacy, and youth leadership development, you can make a gift to the Children’s Fund or learn how your club can apply for a grant to help kids in your community today. 

Helping kids learn STEM skills

Helping kids learn STEM skills

From science fairs to university collaborations, the Kiwanis family facilitates STEM education and career development. 

By Julie Saetre

STEM programs are crucial to the Kiwanis cause of education and literacy. That’s because science, technology, engineering and mathematics, or STEM, are increasingly crucial in society. In the U.S. alone, STEM jobs are projected to grow 10.8% from 2022 to 2032, according to a 2023 report by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. In that same period, non-STEM job growth is projected to be only 2.3%.  

Kiwanis and Key Clubs around the world are answering the call. Use these projects for inspiration when you brainstorm with fellow club members about supplementing STEM efforts — and STEAM efforts, which incorporate the arts — in your community. (Need help with funding? The Kiwanis Childrens Fund offers club grants and microgrants.) 

STEAM fair in California, U.S.
The Kiwanis Club of Diamond Bar Young Professionals in California, U.S., partnered with Diamond Bar High School’s Team Sprocket robotics team for their inaugural STEAM Fair in September 2023. Their goal: Encourage elementary and middle school children to become passionate about STEAM studies and pursue future careers in STEAM fields. 

The Kiwanians stocked the school amphitheater with STEAM-related activities, including book giveaways, bookmark crafts, face painting and ZTAG gaming, which uses a wearable electronic device to promote physical and mental exercise centered around movement and communication. Team Sprocket showcased its award-winning projects, and the high school’s Printed Works student-run business demonstrated robots, drones, 3D printing, laser cutting and T-shirt printing. 

The event also included STEAM career and university speakers, who offered insight on STEAM fields and applying for post-high school STEAM majors.

ElevateEd: STEM in Nepal
With a series of code camps and robotics workshops, the Key Club of Kathmandu in Nepal is bringing a practical approach to STEM education into Nepal’s secondary schools. Led by Key Club members and volunteers with expertise in STEM fields, the workshops help students of all backgrounds apply classroom concepts to hands-on projects. In addition to developing vital skills in scientific fields, participants learn teamwork and how to present their projects in exhibitions.  

STEM support in Idaho, U.S.
In January 2024, the Kiwanis Club of Pocatello, Idaho, U.S., added to its ongoing support of Idaho State University’s STEM education efforts. The US$3,000 donation to the university’s physics department helps fund science presentations and activities for students from kindergarten through high school. 

Each year, the department sponsors over 100 science-education events at Idaho libraries, schools, museums and other area locations. Participants learn to code, model, build catapults and water rockets, and more. Pocatello club members volunteer hundreds of service hours to help make these events successful. 

Don Wyckoff, a club member and past president, personally donated US$1,100 to purchase materials for the Haunted Science Laboratory event sponsored by the physics department and the Kiwanis club in October. The lab includes a Van DeGraaf static electricity generator, lasers and interactive science activities. 

Engineering partnership in Virginia, U.S.
The John B. Cary Elementary School in Richmond, Virginia, U.S., serves children in one of the state’s most educationally underperforming school districts. As many as 90% of its students qualify for free or reduced lunches, and at one point the school was unaccredited. So the Kiwanis Club of Richmond decided to partner with them. Through this ongoing, years-long effort, Cary has gained accreditation and is now recognized as one of the school system’s best performing schools. 

Among the many programs the Kiwanis club has implemented is a collaboration with the engineering department of Virginia Commonwealth University to emphasize the importance of STEM/STEAM education. In 2019, a US$10,000 grant from the Kiwanis club funded the Kiwanis Distance Learning Lab, which is filled with computers and audio/video equipment to facilitate Zoom meetings between Cary students and VCU engineering professors, students and staff.  

As part of the Distance Learning Lab launch, VCU and the Kiwanis club implemented the Engineering in Vision program, which brings university professors and staff to Cary to conduct STEM activities with students. Engineering in Vision reaches an average of 40 students each session, with approximately 16 sessions per academic year.  

Members of the VCU Engineering team also attend a variety of events at Cary each year, participating in Kiwanis activities such as the annual STEM Night and Career Day. Many parents sign up to stay connected with VCU Engineering, and some of their children maintain relationships with VCU long after elementary school. VCU also encourages school classes to come to the VCU campus — only three miles away — to visit the College of Engineering, exposing students to state-of-the-art engineering innovations.